Another Petal Falls

The call was made a few days ago after some days of procrastination. It wasn’t that I dreaded it, but first I had been ill and then I was still getting over it, but at last I needed to make the call. I couldn’t stand my mobile phone staring at me with an accusing glow for another moment. I picked up my phone and dialed the number and her familiar voice was there. Was that just three days ago?

My friend had been battling a relapse of cancer and as we talked I heard the bleak news. She was very brave and talked of a clinical trial she was enrolling in. I did my part too, saying encouraging things and hoping she might beat the odds. We made plans, plans to meet today in the morning. I hoped to break up her day, bring some news, a friendly ear to listen, a warm hug.

I have sitting on a rolling wardrobe in my bedroom a very cute pair of slipper socks. They were bought for her and now serve to remind me of her. They will keep her memory alive for me even though she quietly slipped away in the early morning today.

Love, my friends, is not a zero sum game. You gain love by giving love and the more you give, the more you have. This woman had a lot of love. I will miss her and her other friends and community will miss her and her kind words and her bravery.

My friend, may your memory be blessed and may you be remembered for a long, long time.

2 thoughts on “Another Petal Falls

Leave a Reply

