The Vagina Monologues

I watch what is doubtlessly too many videos on YouTube. Many of them are educational. Some aren’t, being entertained is ok, it can be a nice way to end the day. The other day what popped up was the Vagina Monologues and I just had to watch. I really wondered if I’d get anything out of it. I wondered what I would think about them as they related to men being able to relate too.

Eve Ensler wrote the Vagina Monologues and the version on YouTube is the one performed for HBO. Having watched this I cannot imagine reading it rather than watching the performance. The performance is visceral at times and I don’t see how the kinds of reactions she is trying to evoke can really be gotten via just the written word. Perhaps they can, perhaps there’s something more in the written word.

I was astonished first at how little, even now, even at just a few years into being a woman, still just months into owning a vagina, didn’t resonate. I’ve been walking around feeling the  same vulnerability as every other female for years, how would I not share some of these hopes and fears?

The horror at hearing some of the bad things said was visceral for me, and I think most of them would be visceral for any  human being capable of empathy. A man wouldn’t have felt pain internally, which I have unfortunately felt somewhat because of the process, but people are people and hearing of horrors is what it is.

Much of it inspired laughter, some of it inspired wonder. If you haven’t watched it, I encourage you to do so. It will touch you, what you take away depends on you.

Leave a Reply

