SRS – Revision – October 2017

I originally talked with my surgeon about having developed a tight spot around eighteen  months ago. At the time his advice was to step up on dilation and to use my thumb to put pressure on the scar “ring” that had formed. Unfortunately, nothing I did seemed to make any difference.

This was complicated by having a fissure, basically a cut that wasn’t healing in the same area. It needed a few days of uninterrupted care where it wasn’t being stretched or disturbed. I finally gave it that and unfortunately found myself even tighter. At that point I started to become convinced that only a surgical correction was going to help. I continued to press forward with dilation to the point of discomfort but planned otherwise.

It was at this point a comment I heard from my surgeon made it clearer to me why we ought to have more female MtF surgeons. He thought on examining me (about ten months ago) that I might be a little tight but big enough. The overtone was that it would be nice for a male partner but you’ll note that there wasn’t much thought about the possible discomfort that it would cause me.

In March earlier this year I went to the Boston Medical Center transgender clinic and the plastic surgeon there, Dr. Slama looked at the situation and described the surgery he felt would be successful in treating the scarring. What he described (and did) was to create a slit in the scar ring and advance a wedge of perineum into that slit. It isn’t obvious to me whether he may have also removed some of the scar tissue as well.

The next five months were spent getting letters and approvals done. It was ridiculous given my primary surgery was already complete, but insurance companies don’t have their act together on this. It came together in August and I went back for a preop visit a couple of weeks ago and surgery a few days ago.

The surgery was, thank goodness, not remembered. That is as planned of course. The aftermath was much less intense than for SRS as expected. SRS consists of some rather major changes, this consisted of moving a skin flap, not to minimize but it is night and day in comparison.

Now, four days after the surgery there is no real incision pain without contact. There’s a small degree of what I’ll call ooziness which is to be expected. I keep the area rinsed, coated with antibiotics twice a day as per instructions and at times I put a gauze pad on it.

I have resumed dilation although I am currently just sticking with where I was so as not to put any pressure on the incisions but I can feel that things are stretchy rather than rigid and that is very good to feel indeed.

I go back  Monday to get the stitches removed, isn’t that amazing that full thickness wounds can heal to a reasonable degree of strength in a week? It takes a full year for a wound to completely heal, but there’s enough there after a week to not require any support.

I expect to also hear whether I need any followup work, I asked Dr. Oates who was in on the surgery and a urologist if he would take a look. Unconscious is definitely when you want someone evaluating that part of your body! I’ve had it done awake both as male and female and it has been no fun at all.

Leave a Reply

